2019 AISC Vision in Steel
for Architectural Excellence

The Forge Prize recognizes innovation in the use of steel. Established by the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC), the prize invites designers to submit proposals for visionary designs that embrace steel as the primary structural component. The Forge Prize is organized by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) and is intended to engage designers in developing imaginative designs that bolster steel as the 21st century building material of choice through a two-stage design challenge, culminating with a public announcement event of winners in Summer 2019.

Projects can focus on Architecturally Exposed Structural Steel (AESS), Modular Construction, Long-Span, Reuse, Systems, Urban Density, etc, but are not limited in their scope or complexity. The Forge Prize is open to all innovative uses of structural steel.

The Schedule

Announced Summer 2018
Registration Opens September 2018
Stage One Submission Deadline January 16, 2019
Stage One Winners Announced February 2019
Stage Two Submission Deadline May 2019
Final Winner Announcement & Event Summer 2019


The Forge Prize is open to designers practicing in the U.S. or Canada. Entries will be accepted for individual as well as team submissions. Team submissions are required to have a designated Team Lead. Individuals or the Team Lead should be an emerging professional, in the process of licensure or within 10-years of licensure.



During Stage One, a jury of experts will convene to identify up to three conceptual submissions that will be awarded a $10,000 stipend to continue onto Stage Two. To the extent possible, AISC will pair the three projects with a steel fabricator to help continue design development and work out further technical or structural revisions to refine and enhance the viability of the conceptual design in a real-world application.



Stage Two contestants will prepare a final submission and present to the jury in May of 2019. The contestants and jurors will participate in a public event, where each of the three finalists will present their designs, and the jury will announce the winner they selected and provide critical commentary on all three submissions.



The overall winner will receive an additional $10,000 award, for a grand total of $20,000.

Get Updates

Sign up to receive the latest news and updates about The Forge Prize. We’ll provide news on submission deadlines, guidelines to follow and works of inspiration to fuel your design thinking.

Eric W. Ellis, ACSA Director of Operations & Programs
email: eellis@acsa-arch.org

Fill out my online form.